INTERVIEW TIPS FOR OLDER JOB HUNTERS

21 Aug

 

Baby boomers have a special concern when interviewing for a new position: how to deal with the issue of age discrimination. It is important to show that you are not only capable of doing the job, but passionate about doing so.  In my article for USNews & World Report this week I offer key interview tips for how to make this happen.  Here’s the link:

http://money.usnews.com/money/blogs/outside-voices-careers/2012/08/21/the-best-interview-tips-for-older-job-seekers

Happy hunting!

 

One Response to “INTERVIEW TIPS FOR OLDER JOB HUNTERS”

  1. ImaniKristina (@ImaniKristina) September 3, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    Good Afternoon,

    3 weeks ago, I interviewed for a job in Corporate America. I sat in front on 3 women, all were younger than I, but only 1 was asking questions. Interestingly, as I showed them some of the documents I’d printed from their website and asked questions relative thereto, it was as though I was watching 3 “bobble heads”. This is how they responded to my answers. Then I was asked, “How do you feel about micro-management?”. (Among the questions that I was going to ask was, “what is your management style?”) Admittedly, I attribute this question to their inexperience and/or youth. Nevertheless, whatever my response, seemingly it was favorable, because they nodded again. However, I’ve yet to hear anything to date.

Leave a Reply

